Label: Sundazed LP 5341 (US)
Medium: LP


[The Soft Machine (1968) RE - LP]


Re-Release 2010 - Vinyl NEW !!!  180 gram - foc - sealed  (only gatefold - no die cut)

Named after William Burroughs book, they got formed in Canterbury around 1967. With Australian guitar player Daevid Allen and Kevin Ayers on bass the first lineup recorded some tracks, but first only a single produced and written by
KIM FOWLEY , with a very special psychedelic sound was released on Polydor.
I still remember hearing it on a Pirate Radio Station and looking for it, without success.
Other recordings from that lineup got released as LP on BYG in France only -
...later often re-released on CD named often JET PROPELLED.
After some gigs in France Daevid Allen was not allowed to re-entry the UK.
So the first real album was without him...a great psychedelic album with a nice gimmick cover (watch) but originaly released only in the USA, where the band toured with Jimi Hendrix.
Ayers left the band after the tour to go solo.
Hugh Hopper, who played with Wyatt in the WILDE FLOWERS replaced him.
The 2nd album also psychedelic but shows the way to jazz.
The next album 3rd was an ambitious masterpiece, showed  the way for the following Jazzrock generations..this concept was followed by the next  albums,
but got watered down after the sixt album.

Style : Psych, Prog; Jazz-Rock; Fusion

Wilde flowers ; Kevin Ayers ; Robert Wyatt  &  Matching Mole ; Elton Dean ;
Daevid Allen
& Gong ; The Cake (US) ; Hugh Hopper ; Caravan ; Nucleus ;
Andy Summers ; Delivery ; Alan Holdsworth's Igginbottom ; Isotope ;
Hatfield & The North ;

Mike Ratledge - organ, keyboards.; Kevin Ayers - bass, guitar, vocals;
Robert Wyatt - drums, voc.;
Daevid Allen - guitar; Hugh Hopper - bass;

Elton Dean - sax, electric piano; Lyn Dobson - flute, sax;

Nick Evans - trombone; Mark Charig - cornet; Jimmy Hastings - flute;
Alan Skidmore - sax; John Marshall - drums; Karl Jenkins - piano, sax;
Roy Babbington - bass; Rab Spall - violin; Ric Sanders - violin;
Andy Summers, Alan Holdsworth, John Etheridge - guitar;

Produced: Chas Chandler, Tom Wilson

Side 1  
Hope for Happiness  (B.Hopper-K.Ayers-M.Ratledge)
Joy of a Toy  (K.Ayers-M.Ratledge)
Hope for Happiness (reprise)  (B.Hopper-K.Ayers-M.Ratledge)
Why am I so short?  (H.Hopper-K.Ayers-M.Ratledge)
So Boot if at all   (K.Ayers-M.Ratledge-R.Wyatt)
A Certain Kind  (H.Hopper)
Save yourself  (R.Wyatt)

Side 2
Priscilla  (M.Ratledge-K.Ayers-R.Wyatt)
Lullabye Letter  (K.Ayers)
We did it again  (K.Ayers)
Plus Belle QuUne Poubelle  (K.Ayers)
Why are we sleeping?     (K.Ayers-M.Ratledge-R.Wyatt)
Box 25 /4 LID   (M.Ratledge-H.Hopper)

Verwenden Sie Stichworte, um ein Produkt zu finden.
erweiterte Suche